A Close Shave (Part I)

Now you see it, now you don't!

Now you see it, now you don’t!

In May last year I decided to have a tracheal shave. I had never had any surgery before, so this was a big step for me. A tracheal shave is a small procedure to reduce the size of the Adam’s apple, literally by shaving it down a bit.

I felt that while I could cover a potential beard shadow with makeup, there was no hiding my Adam’s apple. I had found myself angling my head to try and block views of my throat, and trying to edit it out of pictures.

Women do have Adam’s apples too you know, just a lot less pronounced, and the surgery would hopefully enable me to be more like that.

I had opted to have the surgery under local anaesthetic, and although they placed a cover over my eyes to protect me from the bright surgery lights, it was a truly weird experience being fully conscious and aware as my neck was opened up and operated on. Although I could feel what they were doing, the anaesthetic meant I couldn’t feel any pain.

The operation didn’t take that long, and after it was over I only had to spend a few hours in the hospital and I was released to go home and begin my recovery!

Or so I thought.

Things didn’t quite go according to plan, as you’ll discover in Part II

One thought on “A Close Shave (Part I)

Leave a Reply

