Six months being a blogger

Damp Jen after a dip in the pool

It’s been a busy six months!

Whenever you’re feeling like you’re not getting anywhere, have a read of your blog
 and remember how amazing you are 🙂

Text messages don’t seem to have a long lifespan.  One arrives on my phone, I read it, reply to it, and then I’ll probably never see it again.  Once it’s scrolled off the top of the screen, as far as I’m concerned, it’s disappeared into oblivion.

And that is why I’ve recorded the amazing message above, which I received recently from John.

I didn’t have a real reason for starting this blog.   I had noticed that my pictures were getting more popular online, I had started seeing myself pop up on random trans-related websites, and I realised that I didn’t really have a voice.  I wanted to three-dimensionalise myself a bit and show people there was more to me than just a face, grinning at the camera.

Despite the lack of purpose initially, the blog has slowly started taking shape into a record of how I’m feeling and what I’m going through in my transition, like a diary. A lot of the issues and decisions seem like massive things at the time, but 6 months later I can barely remember why I was getting stressed about them, and in front of me I’ve got seemingly much bigger things to deal with.

And that is why re-reading the blog, like John suggests, is starting to get interesting.  I do get frustrated a lot and I do get down about how I’m progressing, so being able to remind myself of how much I’ve achieved, and how big some of those steps have been for me, is a really good way of getting the confidence to push on.

The other great thing about writing the blog is some of the messages I get from people who have stumbled upon it.  I get comments from people about my pictures all the time, but the messages from those that have read the blog are very different.  It seems like a lot of people out there can relate to the stuff that’s going on in my brain; they have the same worries and stresses, but also the same desires and motivations.  It reminds me that I’m not alone, and I’m not weird or crazy or anything to be thinking this way. Hopefully it might even help them a bit as well.

I kinda wish I’d started blogging earlier to be honest, I’ve really done a lot and changed so much in the last few years 🙂

2 thoughts on “Six months being a blogger

  1. Bob Pike

    Hi Jen,
    As you know a blog is an online diary, something that develops the more you add to it. Very few people take time to write down personal events these days. It’s a pity because those entries are a snapshot in time, you read them later in life and all of a sudden, the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and emotions of the moment all come flooding back to you and you’re there! Those records are precious and should be cherished.
    BTW, I feel a bit guilty that I didn’t keep up the votes for you in that Westward Bound photo composition. I saw the way the votes were going for the top three – two Americans and a Polish girl- from, initially 300 to 700 then over a 1000 and I thought, even if I voted with all 4 of my email addresses for 24/7 for 3 weeks, they’ll still win, although you did very well, I thought. As time goes on, you’ll get more widely known and the circle of people you are known to will widen dramatically, hopefully, most will be benign, some will be not so nice. Let’s hope the latter are few.
    Take Care,
    Bob XX

    Reply
  2. Lisa Jones

    John’s words are so true, remember them and look forward. The journey is hard but worth while. Don’t give up, continue and be positive …… no moping. Each day is a small change although you don’t see it, it is another day forward and closer to your goal. Your blog is absolutely brilliant it shows how far you have come, maybe I should of written one on my journey. I know it would of helped as a reminder how far I have come. You should be the same. yes there will be some rough patches in the future but some absolutely brilliant ones to.

    So look forward be positive and hear to the next 6 months, at this rate you may even get a book out of it.

    Lisa xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

