Exciting news!

Jen looking fancy in her work clothes

I’ve got some good news to share today… I’ve been full-time at work for 2 weeks!

It’s all come about so quickly, I think I need to pinch myself to check I’m not dreaming.

Ouch.  Yep, not dreaming!

I mentioned last month that I had made the decision to finally get on with things.  Since the discussions at the time of the Christmas party, work had pretty much been waiting for me to give them the nod, so things have been able to move really fast.

I took a week off at the end of June (which was also my birthday week, so that’s a bonus!) and then started July as Jen.  New email address, new work id card, etc, etc

Everyone at work has been so great and it’s felt really natural.  If anything, I’d stressed and built it up so much that it was a bit of an anti-climax when everything was just normal!

I’d told my colleagues that it wasn’t the end of the world if they accidentally used the wrong name or pronouns at first, it was bound to happen.  I am, after all, the same person as before… doing the same job, at the same desk, in the same office.

But so far no one has slipped up, so that’s even better 🙂

I won’t say I regret not doing this sooner, I think the timing has been just right as I waited until I was definitely ready.

Although at least I can now answer all those “are you full-time yet?” questions with a resounding “yes!”

3 thoughts on “Exciting news!

  1. loribrooks2014l

    I was going to tell you it was going to be a non-event, but I figured I would not spoil the surprise.. it’s awesome though to finally be you 24/7 — welcome to full-time (dislike that phrase – but there you go) – now … all you need to do is live the rest of your life!! how cool is that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

